March 3, 2012

YouthCollegeAdultProHigh SchoolEditorial

Share |

Super Y-League Olympic Development Program select boys teams named

29 Feb, 2012

The USL Super Y-League announced its 2012 Boys Olympic Development Camp Select Teams, honoring the players in the 95/96 and 97/98 age groups that had standout performances at the annual SYL ODP National Camp that was held this past weekend at IMG Academies in Bradenton, Fla.

The players were selected from a pool of more than 200 total players in attendance by the coaches who led the players for the four-day camp under the supervision of USL national technical director Peter Mellor.

“I was delighted with the quality we saw this weekend from our Super Y-League players,” Mellor said. “We hope that all the players that spent the four days with us at the IMG Soccer Academy will return to their clubs having learnt a lot about the game, and continue their development throughout the new league season this summer.”

Players from north of the border featured prominently on the 95/96 Select A team, with a pair of players from the Ottawa Fury, Mountain FC and the Abbotsford Mariners all making the cut. James Stephens and Gurmaan Jhaj were selected from Abbotsford, with Christopher Zepedeo and Race Williams from Mountain and Justin Dragan and Jacob Schroeder from Ottawa also being selected.

In the 97/98 Select A team, four members of the Brandon Flames were selected, with Phillip Stone, Jacob Van Der Luit, Julian Hall and Andrew Samuels all being named. They were joined by a pair of players from the MPS Crusaders, Emmet O’Callaghan and Benjamin Waithe.

“I would like to congratulate all of the players who joined us in this past week,” Mellor said. “Having the opportunity to coach and observe the top Super Y-League players in the United States and Canada at the outstanding facilities at IMG Academies was a greatly enjoyable one, and I hope to see them succeeding in the Super Y-League and beyond in upcoming years.”

95/96 Boys SYL ODP Select A Team

Christopher Zepedeo – GK (Mountain FC)
Samuel Choi – MF (Alpharetta Ambush)
Zebulun Cross – MF (Super Nova FC)
Riley Bubb – D (Fort Wayne Fever)
Justin Dragan – D (Ottawa Fury)
Carey Menifee – F (FC United of Florida)
Gurmaan Jhaj – MF (Abbotsford Mariners)
Christian Oliveira – MF (TSF Academy)
Jae-Chiang Wong – MF (Parsippany SC)
Donald Benamna – F (Real Maryland FC)
Andrew Stevenson – F (Thompson-Okanagan FC)
Brett Conrads – D (NJ Rangers FC)
James Stephens – MF (Abbotsford Mariners)
Jacob Schroeter – F (Ottawa Fury)
Race Williams – F (Mountain FC)
Etan Mabourakh – GK (Weston FC Development)

95/96 Boys SYL ODP Select B Team

Hyunjun Lee – GK (Mountain FC)
Mark Hamalian – D (MPS Crusaders)
Jacob Warech – D (Central Jersey Spartans)
David Arensdorf – D (Triangle FC)
Gavin Coutts – MF (Princeton Soccer Association)
John Marcheto – MF (West Pines United)
Jorge Zavala – D (Brandon FC-Flames)
Brennan Bauschka – MF (Atlanta Fire United)
Peter Melo – MF (MPS Knights)
Connor Rosenthal – MF (Alpharetta Ambush)
Brett Giuliana – MF (TSF Academy)
Dakota Trauco – F (Triangle FC)
Dylan Santos – F (Ironbound SC)
Nicholas Cestaro – F (Brooklyn Knights)
Michael Hall – F (TSF Academy)
Kyle Taalman – GK (Alliance Academy)

97/98 Boys SYL ODP Select A Team

Eduardo Hernandez – D (Northern Virginia Royals)
Tyler Treat – D (Indiana Invaders)
John Lowe – D (Parsippany SC)
Emmet O’Callaghan – F (MPS Crusaders)
Andy Alvarez – MF (Kendall SC)
Arturo Ydrach – F (Florida Soccer Alliance)
Dylan McCrindle – MF (CMFSC)
Cristian Sanchez – D (Chicago Fire)
Jacob van der Luit – MF (Brandon FC-Flames)
Andrew Samuels – MF (Brandon FC-Flames)
Julian Hall – MF (Brandon FC-Flames)
Uyiosa Omorogbe – F (Black Watch SC)
Benjamin Waithe – D (MPS Crusaders)
Jerren Nixon – F (Cobb FC)
Phillip Stone – GK (Brandon FC-Flames)
Wyatt Durbin – GK (Kings Soccer Academy)

97/98 Boys SYL ODP Select B Team

Jeffrey Kujawa – MF (Tampa Bay United)
Gabriel Bitar – F (Ottawa Fury)
Kevin O’Toole – MF (NJ Rangers FC)
Alberto Reyes – F (Atlanta Fire United)
Liam Duffy – D (TSF Academy)
John Wilkins – MF (MPS Bulldogs/Renegades)
James Brady – MF (Long Island Rough Riders)
Delano Capobianco – F (Kalamazoo Kingdom)
Jeovanny Trejo – F (Cobb FC)
Dishawn Cullen – F (Cobb FC)
Brandon Axford – D (Coastal FC)
Ernando Manrique – D (Atlanta Fire United)
Adam Kinsel – MF (Atlanta Fire United)
Isaac Pimenta – F (Alpharetta Ambush)
Alec Lam – GK (TSF Academy)
Andres Medina – GK (Central Jersey Spartans)

« Back to full list of Youth